Moves forward, stops, moves forward, stops

itinstructor

Moves forward, stops, moves forward, stops

Postby itinstructor » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:17 pm

My mePed 2.0 moves forward, stops, moves forward, stops. Turns, and backing up seems to work fine.
I have experimented with the calibration, thinking a servo was reaching its limit. The IR seems to be receiving the signal regularly.
I am using Panasonic eneloop batteries which put out about 5.25 volts.
I started out using the default program from the website.
On another note, I am still learning Arduino C, so more commenting of the code and what it does would help.

itinstructor

Re: Moves forward, stops, moves forward, stops

Postby itinstructor » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:43 pm

A little more experimenting. After a bit, it doesn't matter what button on the IR remote I press, it still goes forward. Sometimes it will go for a bit and be just fine, then it acts up again. It seems to have a mind of its own.
Normal control operation is restored when I turn it off and on again. However, moving forward is still erratic.

spierce
Site Admin

Postby spierce » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:35 pm

Hi itinstructor,

Try commenting out the line that says: distance = get_distance(INCH);

I'm guessing that the routine for grabbing the distance from the ultrasonic range finder is causing the delay in the walking loop. Also, the USRF isn't being used in the starter program.